Measure – word for 2017

A few years ago a friend of mine introduced me to the idea of picking a word for the year. This is to signify what you will be focusing on in the coming year, but also to be built upon as the year progresses. I have always felt like a single word was not enough, but lately over the past three years, the words I have chosen were enough. So when thinking about the coming year, a single phrase has been running constantly through my mind; “A Measure Of____(fill in the blank).” I think in 2017 my strength is going to be measured, I am going to be stretched thin, I will find the measure of hope, love, strength that we will need for everything that will come with Little Bear. To me “Measure” means that I will come face to face with how strong I really am, how fearful I am, and much more I need to dig in and rely on the people around me.

I came up with the phrase “A Measure Of” when thinking about little bear. With Little Monkey, I have two specific hashtags I use on all of the pictures I post via Instagram. So with little bear, I wanted the same thing. The first hashtag is easy, as that’s his name with the addition of 365 added to it. The second is a little more difficult as it’s more personal to my sons. Little Monkey’s second hashtag is “#daysof[littlemonkey].” So for little bear, I came upon “#ameasureof[littlebear].” It fits because we’re going to see his measure once he’s born. He’s going to show us just how strong he is and how much of a fighter he is. This phrase really resonates with me because while I know 2017 is going to be hard, I am excited about seeing where we’re going to grow as a family. I am excited about seeing just how strong we all are, and I am excited about when we can bring little bear home. There is a certain amount of sadness just with all of the changes coming and especially when I look upon Little Monkey and know my days with him as an only child are truly numbered. 83 days (give or take a few days) to be exact. We’ll come to know the measure of Little Monkey too as he adjusts to his new sibling.

There are a lot more things I am having trouble putting words to that rest beneath “A Measure Of” but I know it’s the right word for this coming year. There is something unique and wordless attached to the picking of your word of the year. I used to poo-poo the concept, but now that I have done it for several years, I understand how having a word to cling to, to view the year through, helps. It helps give you strength for the year, it gives lens through which to process the happenings of the year. So as we face this difficult journey, I am grateful I have a foundation to start building experiences on.

Do you have a word for the year? What is it? And what are your reasons?

Author: caleigh

Mama to Little Monkey and Little Bear

Leave a Reply

